24/10/2022 PŘEDNÁŠKA: Prof. Legh Landy / Making Sound-based Music Relevant

Pondělí 24. 10. 2022, 9 - 12 (věž 1022)
prof. Leigh Landy 
De Montfort University, Leicester, UK

Making Sound-based Music Relevant
In a book co-authored with John Richards (currently under review) entitled ‘On the Music of Sounds and the Music of Things’ several aspects of composition are challenged. The book focuses on sampling culture (music of sounds – my own contribution) and Do It Yourself culture (music of things) and foregrounds collaborative creativity above the tradition of composer as master. It describes the notions of communities of practice and communities of interest as related to for whom music is made as opposed to music for anyone/everyone. It foregrounds art for life’s sake above art for art’s sake. Taking these notions together, the book seeks a more open and inclusive world of musical innovation and sharing. As Landy has written for decades questioning the marginalisation of much experimental music, this book proposes constructive ways forward leading towards what the authors have considered two areas of 21st century folk music. This talk therefore concerns ways of making sound-based music relevant to people beyond specialists.

Leigh Landy (1951) is a composer and musicologist of Dutch and American citizenship.[2] He holds a Research Chair at De Montfort University where he directs the Music, Technology and Innovation Research Centre.
Landy's compositions include several works for video, dance and theatre. He has worked extensively with the late playwright, Heiner Müller, the new media artist, Michel Jaffrennou and the composer-performer, Jos Zwaanenburg. He was composer in residence for the Dutch National Theatre during its first years of existence and is currently co-director of Idée Fixe – Experimental Sound and Movement Theatre with the choreographer, Evelyn Jamieson.[3] A complete list of his compositions, recordings, publications and other creative endeavours can be found on his personal website.
Landy's musicological publications focus on studies of electroacoustic music, including the notion of musical dramaturgy, contemporary music in a cross-arts context, access and the contemporary time-based arts, and devising practices in the performing arts. He is editor of the international journal of music technology Organised Sound (Cambridge University Press) and author of over 100 articles (see his personal website) and eight books including:
    What’s the Matter with Today’s Experimental Music? (Routledge, 1991)
    Experimental Music Notebooks (Routledge, 1994)
    Devising Dance and Music: Idée Fixe – Experimental Sound and Movement Theatre (Sunderland, 2000, now on the     author's website)
    Understanding the Art of Sound Organization (MIT Press, 2007)
    La musique des sons/The Music of Sounds (Sorbonne MINT/OMF, 2007)
    Making Music with Sounds (Routledge, 2012)
    ‘Compose Your Words’ eBook (Intelligent Arts, New York, 2014)
    Expanding the Horizon of Electroacoustic Music Analysis Simon Emmerson, Leigh Landy, Eds. (Cambridge     University Press, 2017)

24. říjen 2022