The election, structure, powers and term of office of the HAMU Academic senate (the "HAMU AS") and its members is regulated by Sections 26 and 27 of the Act, the HAMU AS Electoral Regulations and the HAMU AS Rules of Procedure. The HAMU AS and its members are answerable to the HAMU academia for their activities.

The HAMU AS has 13 members: eight academic staff and five students. The term of office of HAMU AS members is three years. The term of office of HAMU AS members, including substitutes, ceases concurrently with the term of office of the existing HAMU AS members.

The HAMU Dean's office supports the HAMU AS's activities both materially and administratively.